"Music is the cup that holds the wine of silence. Sound is that cup, but empty. Noise is that cup, but broken.”

Robert Fripp


Radio Nova' jingles

Some more new "Radio Nova archives" from the early 80s,
when this radio was cheeky, experimental and free.

and many others on "Radio Nova archives


Herakles 2

"Herakles 2" is a music for 5 brass instruments, drum and sampler
composed by Heiner Goebbels in 1992
Commissioned by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, it was first released in Paris,
then on the 1993 ECM record interpreted by Ensemble Moderne.

The title was taken from prose text in Heiner Muller's play "Zement" which describes Hercules' second task, his struggle with the Hydra.
The structure of the music is inspired by the architecture of the text.

"For a long time, he believed he was still walking through the woods, in the stupefying hot winds that seemed to blow from all directions, making the trees twist like serpents in the immutable dusk, following a barely visible spoor of blood on the steadily shifting ground, alone in his battle with the beast..."

Here live in concert in Hannover, Germany
29th of March 2012
with the music brass Ensemble Schwerpunkt

other Heiner Goebbels' works on "Beyond the coda" : <<<>>>


46 bis

En 1988, Pascal Baes réalise un court métrage 16mm en noir et blanc intitulé "46 bis".
Interprété par les danseuses Laurence Rondoni et Sara Denizot, ce film expérimental est tourné en pixilation, technique d'animation où des acteurs réels ou des objets sont filmés image par image.
Pascal Baes réalisera par la suite de nombreux films expérimentaux dont le non moins célèbre "Topic", tourné à Prague en 1989. 

In 1988, Pascal Baes directed a short film 16mm in black and white entitled "46 bis".
Interpreted by dancers Laurence Rondoni and Sara Denizot, this experimental film was shot in pixilation, an animation technique where real actors or objects are shot frame by frame.
Pascal Baes subsequently made numerous experimental films, including the notorious "Topic", shot in Prague in 1989.

"46 bis", magique film (devenu culte) des années 80, sur le célèbre tango "Ana El Owerka" du chanteur juif algérien Lili Boniche, a été tourné dans une cour de la rue de Belleville à Paris, au N° 46bis, un jour de pluie. 

"46 bis", a movie of the 80s which became cult, on the famous tango "Ana El Owerka" of the Algerian Jewish singer Lili Boniche, was shot in a courtyard of the street of Belleville in Paris, a rainy day.


Pixilation: terme créé par le réalisateur canadien Norman MacLaren en 1959 pour son film "Neighbours" à partir du slang americain "pixilited" = démarche grotesque, saoul, saccadé, avec des discontinuités. 


New ladies bands

Blind Girls Brass Band - unknown date and location

 Women mandolin band - unknown date & location

 Janietz Elite Damen Blas Orchester - Germany - circa 1914

The spanish orchestra - Iowa - 1926

 Gierk' Ladies band - Richmond, Michigan - circa 1912 - 1916 

 a ladies orchestra in Wien - circa 1910

 the Orchestra of the Iowa Industrial School for Girls - Mitchellville - Iowa - circa 1900

Thanks to the excellent blog temposenzatempo which collect a lot of these old pictures & stories, and focus on details.


Senyawa in Java


 Senyawa is an experimental band formed in 2010 in Yogyakarta (Java, Indonesia) consisting of Rully Shabara and Wukir Suryadi. Exploring the framing of experimental music practice as well pushing the boundaries of their cultural heritage with a "garage spirit" they used to share performances with Otomo Yoshihide, Keiji Haino, David Shea, Oren Ambarchi, Trevor Dunn and many others personalities of the experimental scene.
Singing in different langages as Sulawesian, Javanese and Bahasa, Rully Shabara use brutaly his voice with extended vocal techniques.
And Wukir Suryadi plays amplified traditional traditional Indonesian instruments.


an interview of the band on the blog "bombsite"

"Calling the new gods - Seynawa live in Java"  is a movie by Vincent Moon directed in 2012 during performances of the band.
images, sounds & edit by Vincent Moon - mix by Senyawa - produced by Vincent Moon, Aniza Santo & Senyawa